agency banner bg dots

How many types of audit in ISO certification?

4444816 scaled

In the context of ISO certification, there are typically three main types of audits:

1. *Internal Audit:*
– Conducted by the organization’s own personnel or a hired third party.
– Aimed at evaluating the organization’s adherence to its own policies, procedures, and the chosen ISO standard.
– Identifies areas of improvement and ensures ongoing compliance.

2. *External Audit (Certification Audit):*
– Conducted by an external certification body.
– Evaluates the organization’s compliance with the specific ISO standard.
– Determines whether the organization meets the requirements for ISO certification.
– External audits are usually conducted in two stages: Stage 1 (documentation review) and Stage 2 (on-site assessment).

3. *Surveillance Audit:*
– Follow-up audits conducted by the certification body at regular intervals after the initial certification.
– Ensures that the organization continues to comply with the ISO standard.
– Typically conducted annually or semi-annually, depending on the certification body’s requirements.

Each type of audit serves a specific purpose in the ISO certification process, contributing to the ongoing improvement and maintenance of a certified management system. Internal audits help organizations identify and address issues internally, while external and surveillance audits provide independent verification of compliance with the ISO standard.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *